The First Coronation in the UK for 70 Years – Sunday Post

Whilst most of the country has gotten itself into a frenzy over our the new king’s coronation, I have been focusing more on my plans to get back onto the South West Coast Path and continue my through hike from where I left off in the autumn.

I left the trail in Bude and will be getting the bus back up to North Cornwall on Wednesday morning, weather permitting. I did a one-night training walk and equipment test onto Dartmoor on Monday and although it left me with some strange (but short lived) aches and pains at the end of the day, it felt good to carry everything I need to survive on my back. I have no idea how far I will go beyond reaching my parent’s house near Hayle but I will post a few photos and will still try and keep this blog going via my phone and whatever wifi hotspots I find along the way.

Books Finished This Week - playlist script

Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black

by Marcus Sedgwick, Julian Sedgwick, Alexis Deacon (Illustrations)

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Interesting concept of a man possessed by Orpheus making an allegorical journey into the underworld to save his brother, but much of the prose and poetry was confusing and dull, especially in the middle of the book. So much so that I ended up skimming many of the dream and hallucinatory sections. The indigo watercolour illustrations where wonderful and gained this book a star from 2 to 3.


Currently Reading - playlist script

Linking to_ - playlist script

I will be linking this to the Sunday Post over at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer, The Sunday Salon at Readerbuzz.

10 thoughts on “The First Coronation in the UK for 70 Years – Sunday Post

Add yours

  1. Walking/cycling on the footpaths in England (when we lived in Cambridge for a few months) was fantastic. Not like anything here in the US because they seem so historic even when they are going through cultivated fields. Your journey sounds wonderful.
    best, mae at maefood.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I will eagerly anticipate seeing the photos and reading the text you will post about your hike. Hiking has most of the elements that add to happiness—being outdoors, being active, a sense of purpose. Good luck!

    I’m not a person who is fascinated with celebrities, but when I woke up early on Saturday, I clicked the link to the ceremony just in time to hear a bit of the music and see the actual crowning.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑