April Review and Sunday Post

I can’t quite believe we are at the beginning of May already, one third of the year is behind us already. The Easter Holidays were good and seeing my parents for the first time in a year was a definite highlight.

This week spring seems to be turning into early summer but as this April was the driest on record in the UK this has just meant a slight increase in temperature.

Reading wise, I finished a couple of huge books but then entered a bit of a reading slump which I have pulled myself out of by re-reading the Devvery series by Katherine Kerr for the umteenth time (I have lost count over the years).

The Cuckoo’s Calling (Cormoran Strike, #1)

by Robert Galbraith

Rating: 5 out of 5.

That was really, really good. I devoured it in a few days after I got about 10% in found it difficult to put down. The dynamic between Strike and Robin give it the special something. The mystery was good too, I didn’t figure it at all, but was kicking myself for it.

Dragonspell (Deverry, #4)

by Katharine Kerr

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

The last of the cycle and probably my favourite of all the books in this world. Good vs evil but with the characters that we know and love with none of the flashbacks that annoy so many people with these books. This is re-read #4 or 5, I have lost count.

Draw Your Day: An Inspiring Guide to Keeping a Sketch Journal

by Samantha Dion Baker

Rating: 4 out of 5.

As with most inspirational art books it was a quick read with lots of pictures. It has made me want to draw more, so it’s work is done.

The Book of Lost Names
by Kristin Harmel

Rating: 3 out of 5.

A bit of a disappointment. It started so well and I was intrigued by this story of a young Jewish forger but somehow it lost it’s way. The romance seemed to be there for no good reason and the character of Remy never really felt like a real person. Eva’s Jewish identity didn’t feel like a congruent part of her personality and her mother was more like a caricature than a real person. Overall it left me cold.

The Best of the Bunch - Playlist Script
Other Books Read This Month- Playlist Script

Currently Reading - playlist script

Reading Challenge Updates - Playlist Script

15 books read in April and this means that I only have 38 books to read this year to complete my goodreads challenge.

The other challenges are getting much harder to fill now but I am on schedule.

This Month On the Blog - Playlist Script

Sunday Posts: 

Book Reviews:

Top Ten Tuesdays

 

Linking to_ - playlist script

I will be linking this to the Sunday Post over at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer, The Sunday Salon at Readerbuzz   It’s Monday What are you Reading? at The Book Date, and because this is a monthly one too Monthly Wrap-Up Round-Up at Feed Your Fiction Addiction and Best of the Bunch over at A Cocoon of Books.

22 thoughts on “April Review and Sunday Post

Add yours

  1. Whoa 15 books in April, that is spectacular. I am glad you got to see your parents for the first time in a year! Stay safe and cheerful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a lot of books! I’ve been struggling with reading but, luckily, I’ve enjoyed what I have managed to read. 🙂

    Glad you got to see your parents! It’ll be 20 months if everything holds steady and I can go to Scotland in August to see mine. 😦 It’s certainly been an unprecedented couple of years!

    Like

    1. I have been doing quite a good chunk of comfort reading and rereads which helps bulk up the numbers.
      It has certainly been an odd few years, I just hope it ends soon and doesn’t do what my OH fears and carry on forever.

      Like

  3. We apparently got all your rain here last week. They say it’s going to rain all next week, too, but today is beautiful. I’ll try to send the rain your way.

    You know how to get yourself out of a slump. That’s exactly what I do—a reread.

    I got Draw Your Day for my birthday last year. I like it a lot.’

    Have a good week, Charlotte.

    Like

    1. Your rain directing powers are awesome as it’s raining now and is likely to continue for a while now.
      I have a few select books/series that I save up for whenever I need to get out of a slump. Works every time.

      Like

  4. I enjoyed The Cuckoo’s Calling as well (actually, I’ve enjoyed the whole series) and I agree that the dynamics between Robin and Strike is an important part of the story. How are you finding Helgoland? I found another of Rovelli’s books (Reality is not what it seems) very good reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. J.K Rowling really knows how to make engaging characters, I have reserved the next book in the series from the library and it’s in transit so it wont’t be long.
      Helgoland is a heavy read, but very interesting. I am reading it very slowly however as it is likely to mess with my mind if I overdo it.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. So encouraging that you were able to get together with your parents again – what a treat! The art journaling book on your lists looks interesting. I’m not an artist, but I could doodle in a journal, I think.
    Have another great month! Visiting from the FYFA wrap-up #18

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow you are moving through the deverry series quickly! It’s always nice when a familiar series helps with slumps. 🙂 And I’m glad you had a good Easter. Your books look good.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I enjoyed The Cuckoo’s Calling too and bought the rest of the series. Haven’t read them yet but thanks for reminding me about them. Kindle books are harder to keep track of than print books. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hands-down agreed on the big plot reveal in Cuckoo’s calling. I didn’t guess it right till the end either. I’d tried the audiobook version, not bad at all.

    Draw Your Day looks great. I’ve been trying bullet journaling this year, and sketching the journal entries looks another fun attempt at creative mess. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Great job on your reading this month–you are crushing your Goodreads goal! You read books that are all new to me and I love finding new books to check out.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑